Montag, 9. Februar 2015


Hey Shoegaze People.

So it's time again for a new post about REVOLUTION - The Shoegaze Revival Compilation. It's brought to you by Ear to Ear Records and Gerpfast Kolektif und will be released on Feb 11th. It's for free download! We are the new Generation of Shoegaze and you are all a part of this amazing progress. So keep your eyes and ears open. This time I'll introduce to you: Sounds Of Sputnik, Lights That Change, Clustersun, Ether Feels and The Evening Primrose. Enjoy.

Sounds of Sputnik is a project spearheaded by Roma Kalitkin, whose signature sound mixes post-rock, shoegaze and dream pop with a slight kickback to noise pop. He draws inspiration from My Bloody Valentine, Jesus and Mary Chain, Ride, Sonic Youth, Happy Mondays, and Slowdive.

Dubbing himself a “white crow”, the music he makes has always gone against trends within his home country of Russia, both as a solo artist and for the 20 years he played in various post-punk, alternative and shoegaze bands.

Sounds of Sputnik released his debut album "New Born" on Ear to Ear Records (UK) on November 21, 2014.

Sounds of Sputnik has grabbed the attention of numerous celebrated people, who became involved in this album, including Graham Bonnar (Swervedriver, Brian Jonestown Massacre), Malcolm Holmes (OMD), Fran Ashcroft (Damon Albarn, Lords of Acid), and Ummagma, who co-wrote, co-produced and performed on this album. Sounds of Sputnik also received a top prize at the 2014 Jagermeister Russian Indie Music Awards in the 'Young Blood' nomination category, as well as one for Best East European Video at the 2014 Australian Independent Music Video Awards.

Lights That Change is a shoegaze, dreampop, ethereal wave project that renowned British producer Marc Joy began years ago. It represents a culmination of his many years producing, engineering, and mastering artists from a broad range of genres, as well as his own solo and collaborative creative endeavours. This is an initiative to get back to why he began a career in music in the first place, looking for the perfect dreamscape sonic horizon, created primarily on the basis of guitars.

This project is envisioned in a similar format to This Mortal Coil, for instance - a colourful revolving door of collaborators, with Marc as the foundation. Musician Lisa Von H contributed vocals for the Lights That Change EP and Beautiful Soul single, as well as tracks on the Rainbow On Your Shoulder EP. The latter two were released through Ear to Ear Records. More recently, Lights That Change have been working with numerous other collaborators, including Malcolm Holmes of Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (OMD). The result of these new developments shall be revealed on Lights That Change's debut album, which is due early 2015. 

Clustersun are into washy loud shoegazey reverberations, walls of sound, cold wave atmospheres, psychedelic journeys, and crystal clear dreamy melodies. They were formed in Catania, Italy, and have been making noise together since the beginning of 2013. Their first self-produced single “Be Vegetal”, was included in the CD Summer Sampler 2013, published by U.S. label Custom Made Music. They subsequently signed to Italian label Seahorse Recordings to release their debut album “Out Of Your Ego” in April 2013.

The first single chosen from the album, “Hipgnosis”, reveals the band signature sound: hypnotic-obsessive bass lines, dark and cold drum patterns, strongly expressive guitar spanning from an ambient ethereal mood to fuzz-and-reverb madness, fat analog synths and dreamy melodies. 

Ether Feels is a Japanese trio, who play shoegaze music with a leaning towards indie rock and power pop. Members Tomo, Yoko and Kita-Kun are based in Osaka, Japan. Ryuichi Sakamoto, Ride, Nirvana, David Sylvian, MBV, J&MC, Wannadies and Lemonheads are among the bands who have inspired them.

They released their first 8-track album "Ether Feels" in July 2010, and followed up with their second 7-track album "Raindrop Sparkle" in November 2011. Available through Amazon and Disk Union within Japan (search for "Ether Feels").

In 2012, they released the 4-track EP "Annabelle Flowers" on CD
through Bah! Records Indonesia, quickly followed by another 4-track EP "Red Dress Girl" on Bandcamp. They also participated in the shoegaze compilation "The Sun Rises in the East", released on Shiny Happy Records, alongside other renowned Japanese bands like Flannel, Sugardrop, Oeil, and Bertoia. In July 2014, Ether Feels released its latest EP "Twilight Dreams" on CD, which is available through Tower Records Japan, Amazon Japan, Bandcamp, and elsewhere.

From 2012 to 2014, they have been playing concerts and have performed at some high level festivals, such as the Japan Shoegazer Festival Osaka and Kyoto Shoegazer Festival. Through these events, they have shared the stage with Lemon's Chair, Cruyff in the Bedroom, Kipu Kirota, AOQ, Saturday and Penguin and Coffee, Cigarette in Your Bed, Boyfriends Dead, and Penguin Airways...

The Evening Primrose is a Hong Kong dreampop, neo-folk, shoegaze duo formed in 2006 between finindie & michhy. They issued their first debut album "Stargazer" in 2007. Their second album "Starless" came out in 2011 and their third album "Starfalling" in 2012.
The duo is currently in the process of recording their fourth album
"Daydream With You Tonight". 

Keine Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen